What Is A Misdemeanor In Ohio?
MISDEMEANOR CASES generally involve the least serious criminal offenses in Ohio. However, misdemeanor cases still carry penalties like fines, jail time, and court costs. Therefore, it is not wise to take a misdemeanor charge lightly.
Misdemeanors are broken down into 5 different categories. The higher the category classification of misdemeanor the more severe the possible penalties will be for the offense.
Degrees Of Misdemeanors
THE CLASSIFICATIONS OF MISDEMEANOR offenses are known as degrees. The higher the degree, the higher the penalty associated therewith. The classifications are 1st Degree, 2nd Degree, 3rd Degree, 4th Degree, and Minor Misdemeanors (MM). A first degree misdemeanor is the most serious of all misdemeanor cases and a Minor Misdemeanor, known as an MM, is the least serious. Examples of a first degree misdemeanor are an OVI / DUI or a theft charge, where examples of an MM include speeding tickets. It is important to understand the degree of misdemeanor that you are facing, so that you can understand the possible penalty involved with your case.
THE DEGREE, OR CLASSIFICATION of misdemeanor for which you are charged will determine the possible penalties that you are facing with your case. Here is a breakdown of the misdemeanor degrees and the maximum penalty for each classification:
|1st Degree||6 Months||$1,000|
|2nd Degree||90 Days||$750|
|3rd Degree||60 Days||$500|
|4th Degree||30 Days||$250|